“Suryakumar Yadav Included in India’s 15-Member World Cup 2023 Squad”

“Suryakumar Yadav Included in India’s 15-Member World Cup 2023 Squad”

Suryakumar Yadav has kept his place in the ODI lineup as India officially released their 15-man roster for the 2018 World Cup. The competition for the middle-order backup position seemed to be a three-way fight between Suryakumar, newcomer Tilak Varma, and wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, but the 32-year-old Suryakumar has won it after KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer returned to the 50-over format after recovering from injuries.
"Suryakumar Yadav Included in India's 15-Member World Cup 2023 Squad"
“Suryakumar Yadav Included in India’s 15-Member World Cup 2023 Squad”

Although Suryakumar is acknowledged as the best T20I batsman in the world, he has had difficulty translating his T20 success to ODI cricket, failing to score a half-century in his last 18 innings. Despite this, he has been given a variety of responsibilities in the middle order in Rahul and Iyer’s absence, and the club management has continued to back the talented batter.

Despite missing the Asia Cup group stage matches in Sri Lanka, it was verified in a report on Monday (September 4) that there were no reservations regarding KL Rahul’s selection to the World Cup squad. While completing his recuperation at the NCA, the 31-year-old successfully demonstrated his fitness as a wicketkeeper and batter.

Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, and Prasidh Krishna did not earn spots in the World Cup roster because they were not a part of the team that represented India at the ongoing Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. Even though Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh both just made a full recovery from chronic injuries, only Bumrah was chosen for the final 15-man team, which was expected. Along with the dynamic all-rounder Hardik Pandya, Bumrah will be joined by Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur in the fast-bowling category. Shardul seems to have defeated Prasidh in the final 15 due to India’s worries about their batting depth in limited-overs cricket.

The roster has Kuldeep Yadav as the sole wrist spinner, with Yuzvendra Chahal, who was excluded from the Asia Cup, remaining out. In addition to Axar Patel, the squad also has Ravindra Jadeja as a spin option. Ishan Kishan, who contributed significantly with a half-century in India’s vital Asia Cup match against Pakistan, keeps his place as the squad’s backup wicketkeeper-batsman.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), KL Rahul, (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah

Click here to visit my website

Leave a Comment